DUI Speak to our Award-Winning DUI Defense Attorney Today.

Gwinnett County DUI Defense Attorney

Aggressive Defense by a National Trial Lawyers Top 40 under 40 Attorney

Have you been arrested for DUI in the greater Atlanta metropolitan area? If so, you are likely worried about what will happen in the days to come and how such an arrest will affect you long-term. This is especially true if you have never been arrested before which is often the case with driving under the influence. A DUI is a serious matter in the state of Georgia but, like any criminal offense, defenses do exist, and AN ARREST DOES NOT MEAN YOU ARE GUILTY. However, you will need the services of an experienced and committed criminal defense lawyer in your corner as soon as possible who can get to work investigating all facets of your arrest.

At Houston Washburn Law, you can turn to an attorney who has focused much of his practice on DUI defense and education. Attorney Houston Washburn is a member of the National College for DUI Defense, an organization to which the top and most experienced DUI defense lawyers in the country maintain memberships. The organization provides the most advanced-level training regarding DUI in the nation. Attorney Washburn was also voted a 10 Best in 2016 by the American Institute of DUI/DWI Attorneys which operates as an impartial third-party legal rating and review organization. Together with these qualifications, a fighting determination, and positive relationships with local prosecutors and judges, our firm offers outstanding DUI defense representation.

Arrested for DUI? Contact the Gwinnett County DUI defense attorney at (770) 766-8966 or through our online request form for a free, initial consultation.

DUI Laws in Georgia

In Georgia, you can be arrested for driving under the influence if you manifest impairment from drugs or alcohol regardless of your blood alcohol concentration (BAC), if your blood alcohol concentration (BAC) measures .08 percent or higher (per se DUI), or you have any quantity of drugs such as marijuana in your system. Georgia law prohibits you from being in physical control of a vehicle while in the above states which means you do not actually have to be driving. Sitting behind the wheel with the keys in the ignition while impaired from alcohol is grounds for an arrest.

If you have a pending DUI, you should know that there are two cases occurring at the same time with two separate consequences. There is a license case and a criminal case. In Georgia, you have 30 days to send an appeal to the DDS to preserve your license during the pendency of your criminal case. If you do not file your appeal, your license may be suspended after 45 days while your case is pending. There is also a case pending in the criminal court that has jurisdiction. As an experienced DUI attorney, Houston Washburn, knows how these two worlds affect the other and works with his clients to make the process as easy and smooth as possible.

The penalties you face upon a conviction will be determined by the judge based on the following guidelines:

  • A first DUI is punishable by 10 days up to a year in jail, fines ranging from $300 up to $1,000, 20 to 40 hours of community service, and a license suspension of up to a year

  • A second-offense DUI within 10 years – determined by arrest dates – is punishable by 90 days up to a year in jail, fines ranging from $600 to $1,000, a three-year license suspension, and completion of an alcohol or drug use reduction program
  • A third-offense DUI within 10 years – determined by arrest dates – is punishable by 120 days up to a year in jail, fines ranging from $1,000 up to $5,000, a permanent license revocation, and you must serve a minimum of 15 days in jail

DUI offenders must also complete an alcohol or drug evaluation and any ordered treatment program. Licenses may be restored in first and second offenses after completing a DUI education program. In a third offense, you may seek a probationary license after three years of suspension. Additional penalties include increased auto insurance premiums and a permanent criminal record easily accessible on a routine background check.

Hardship licenses may be applied for during suspension periods with the installment and maintenance of an ignition interlock device. License suspensions are a separate administrative process handled by the Georgia Department of Driver Services. You must request a hearing to challenge the DUI license suspension within 30 days of your arrest or your suspension will automatically go into effect.

If you were found driving with a minor under the age of 14 as a passenger, or you were involved in an accident that injured or killed someone, you will face enhanced penalties and charges.

Get Help from an Accomplished Criminal Defense Attorney

DUI is a very complex field that combines scientific factors as well as probable cause and other legal aspects. Because of its complexity, you will want an attorney who knows how investigate all areas of your arrest to uncover police error, faulty technical issues, and more. At Houston Washburn Law, your case will be handled by an attorney who has been trained in these matters above and beyond the average lawyer. We urge you to take advantage of our trial skills, DUI knowledge, and understanding of the law to help you fight for the best possible outcome.

Talk to our Gwinnett County DUI attorney about your case today. Call (770) 766-8966.

Begin Your Defense Strategy Today

Start with a Free Consultation with Attorney Houston Washburn
  • Please enter your first name.
  • Please enter your last name.
  • Please enter your phone number.
    This isn't a valid phone number.
  • Please enter your email address.
    This isn't a valid email address.
  • Please make a selection.
  • Please enter a message.